PROVIDENCE, R.I. (WPRI) — With Congressman David Cicilline’s bombshell announcement that he’s leaving Washington, D.C., to lead the Rhode Island Foundation, the state’s political community is abuzz with the prospect of who might replace him.

Announcements started rolling in within hours of the news coming out, as the Democratic congressman is planning to leave office in the spring and a special election will be held to replace him.

Here’s a breakdown of the people who have already expressed interest, in alphabetical order, along with others who are either in the mix or being talked about as potential candidates.

This list will be updated as more names emerge and additional announcements are made.


• Marvin Abney, state representative, Finance Committee chair (D)
• Gabe Amo, former Biden administration official (D)
Nick Autiello, former state official (D)
• Mickeda Barnes, political newcomer (D)
Stephanie Beauté, former candidate for secretary of state (D)
Walter Berbrick, former Navy intelligence officer
• Sandra Cano, state senator, Education Committee chair (D)
• Donald Carlson, Jamestown investor (D)
• Steve Casey, state representative, Housing Committee chair (D)
John Goncalves, Providence city councilor (D)
• Sabina Matos, Rhode Island lieutenant governor (D)
• Bella Machado Noka, Narragansett tribal elder (D)
• Ana Quezada, state senator (D)
• Aaron Regunberg, former state representative, 2018 lt. gov. candidate (D)
• Allen Waters, 2022 Republican nominee for Congress (D)


• Meghan Kallman, state senator (D)
• Nirva LaFortune, former Providence city councilor and 2022 candidate for mayor (D)
Joey Paolino, energy consultant and former Democratic Party staffer (D)

Not ruling it out

• Liz Beretta-Perik, R.I. Democratic national committeewoman (D)
• Jessica de la Cruz, R.I. Senate Minority Leader (R)
• Barbara Ann Fenton-Fung, state representative (R)
• Allan Fung, former Cranston mayor, gubernatorial and congressional candidate (R)
• Nellie Gorbea, former secretary of state and 2022 gubernatorial candidate (D)

Not running

• Helena Foulkes, former CVS executive and 2022 gubernatorial candidate (D)
Joseph Shekarchi, R.I. House speaker (D)
• Maria Rivera, Central Falls mayor (D)
• Dawn Euer, state senator, Judiciary Committee chair (D)
• Jorge Elorza, former Providence mayor (D)
• Angel Taveras, former Providence mayor (D)
• Joe Paolino Jr., former Providence mayor (D)
• Brett Smiley, Providence mayor (D)
• Dan McKee, Rhode Island governor (D)
• Gina Raimondo, U.S. commerce secretary and former governor (D)
• Gregg Amore, Rhode Island secretary of state (D)
• James Diossa, Rhode Island general treasurer (D)
• Xay Khamsyvoravong, Newport mayor (D)
• Clay Pell, former gubernatorial candidate (D)
• Peter Neronha, RI attorney general and former Rhode Island U.S. attorney (D)
• Katherine Kazarian, state representative (D)
• Cynthia Mendes, former state senator and 2022 lieutenant governor candidate (D)
• Christopher Bizzacco, district director for Congressman Cicilline (D)
• Aaron Guckian, former lieutenant governor candidate (R)
• Arlene Violet, former attorney general (I)
• Donald Grebien, Pawtucket mayor (D)
• Patrick Lynch, former Rhode Island attorney general (D)
• Ted Donovan, progressive activist (D)
• Dino Autiello, North Providence town councilor (D)
• Bob DaSilva, East Providence mayor (D)
Nathan Biah, state representative (D)