PROVIDENCE, R.I. (WPRI) — With much of Southern New England in an extreme (level 4 or 5) drought and the conditions continuing to worsen, many cities and towns in Massachusetts are putting mandatory water restrictions in place.

The following municipalities have issued restrictions for nonessential outdoor water use:

Mandatory water restrictions (1 day or less per week allowed)

  • Attleboro
  • Dighton
  • Norton
  • Seekonk
  • Swansea
  • Raynham

Mandatory water restrictions (2 days or more per week allowed)

  • Dartmouth
  • Foxboro
  • North Attleboro
  • Mansfield
  • Taunton

Voluntary water restrictions

  • Fairhaven
  • Mattapoisett

Full map of Massachusetts water restrictions:

Visit to learn more about the water restrictions.

Pinpoint Weather 12 Links
Detailed 7-Day Forecast | Weather Now | Radar | Hour-by-Hour | Ocean, Bay & Beach | Pinpoint Traffic | Flight Tracker | Severe Weather | Active Weather Alerts | Closings and Delays | Power Outages | Get the Weather App