‘Is this you?’ BBB warns of social media video scheme

Local News
Better Business Bureau_635593

PROVIDENCE, R.I. (WPRI) — The Better Business Bureau (BBB) is warning people who received a message on Facebook asking “Is This You?” to not click on the link.

BBB said that those who do click the link will be taken to a website that appears similar to Youtube or Facebook. Once there, the user will be asked to log in again, which would open the account to hackers.

The hackers can then take over the account and send other malware to the victim’s friends.

Officials said people are more likely to click links from someone they know, which will help the scheme spread.

BBB said to delete unsolicited messages with unexpected material and to not click on any links. They also said to contact the sender directly before clicking the link to see if they actually sent the message. If not, their account has most likely been hacked.

BBB provided more tips related to phishing schemes on their website. To report a scam you can go to the BBB scam tracker. To learn how to protect yourself from a variety of schemes, BBB listed 10 steps to avoid scams.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Providence

Download Mobile Apps from WPRI 12
DOWNLOAD APPS NOW: Apple App Store | Google Play Store
PINPOINT WEATHER // Quick Links:

Coronavirus: Complete Coverage

More Coronavirus

Dan Yorke State of Mind: Dan's Daily Update

DYSOM 1/7/21: Joe Cammarano, Political Science Professor, Providence College

More Dan Yorke State of Mind

Don't Miss

Viewer Pa on WPRI.com

LIVE CAMS on WPRI.com

More Live Cams

Community Events & Happenings

More Community