Massachusetts drivers can now be fined for violating hands-free law

Massachusetts

BOSTON (WPRI) — The grace period is over for Massachusetts drivers. Starting on Wednesday, police officers will issue fines to those caught violating the state’s hands-free law.

The law, which went into effect on Feb. 23, prohibits motorists from holding phones and other devices while behind the wheel.

First offenders will receive a $100 fine. For a second offense, drivers will be fined $250 and have to complete a driving safety course, and any additional violations will result in a $500 fine, an insurance surcharge and the mandatory completion of a driving safety course.

Under the law, drivers are only allowed to touch their phone to activate hands-free mode or GPS navigation, as long as it’s mounted properly. Using a handheld device at a red light or stop sign is prohibited.

People under the age of 18 are not allowed to use their phones at all while driving, even in hands-free mode.

Learn more about the hands-free law here.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Providence

Download Mobile Apps from WPRI 12
DOWNLOAD APPS NOW: Apple App Store | Google Play Store
PINPOINT WEATHER // Quick Links:

Dan Yorke State of Mind: Dan's Daily Update

DYSOM 9/21/2020 Joe Cammarano

More Dan Yorke State of Mind

Don't Miss

Viewer Pa on WPRI.com

LIVE CAMS on WPRI.com

More Live Cams

Community Events & Happenings

More Community

The Border Report Tour

More Border Report Tour