Key Local Races

☆ ☆ ☆

12 News is Your Local Election Headquarters. Stay with us for comprehensive campaign coverage through Election Day, including exclusive polls, candidate interviews, debates and expert analysis.

☆ ☆ ☆

Election Day has come and gone. Voters across the country cast their ballots to decide the outcome of various races and referendums.

Below are some of the key races that were up for grabs in Rhode Island and Massachusetts:

Skip to a Race

Rhode Island: Governor US House District 1 US House District 2 Lt. Governor Attorney General Secretary of State General Treasurer Providence Mayor

Massachusetts: Governor Lt. Governor Attorney General Secretary of State US House District 4 US House District 9 Bristol County Sheriff

Rhode Island


Rhode Islanders will soon decide who’ll have the state’s top job for the next four years.

The incumbent, Gov. Dan McKee, is looking to secure his first full term after he took over for former Gov. Gina Raimondo in March 2021. He eked out a win in the primary despite strong challenges from his Democratic opponents. He’ll face GOP nominee Ashley Kalus and three independent candidates in November.

U.S. House District 1

Democratic Congressman David Cicilline, who’s represented Rhode Island’s first district since 2011, is running for another term in office. He faces a challenge from Republican Allen Waters.

U.S. House District 2

The current holder of this seat, Congressman Jim Langevin, announced earlier this year that he’s calling it quits after 11 terms in office.

After winning the Democratic primary, R.I. General Treasurer Seth Magaziner will take on former Cranston Mayor Allan Fung, who’s running on the Republican ticket, and Moderate Party candidate William Gilbert.

Lieutenant Governor

Matos, who was hand-picked by McKee for the state’s #2 job, is also looking to win her first full term in that office. The former Providence City Council president beat out her two challengers in the Democratic primary and goes on to face GOP nominee Aaron Guckian and independent Ross McCurdy.

Attorney General

Peter Neronha is running against GOP Challenger Chas Calenda as he seeks to win a second term in office.

Secretary of State

Gregg Amore, a state representative and high school teacher from East Providence, beat opponent Stephanie Beauté in the Democratic primary, setting up a showdown with Republican Pat Cortellessa.

General Treasurer

The hotly contested Democratic primary between former Central Falls Mayor James Diossa and R.I. Commerce Secretary Stefan Pryor ended with a win for Diossa. He’ll take on Republican James Lathrop in the general election.

Providence Mayor

Former Department of Administration director and Raimondo chief of staff Brett Smiley took home the win in the Democratic primary, effectively making him the mayor-elect with no Republicans or independents on the November ballot. He replaces Mayor Jorge Elorza, who is term-limited.



Gov. Charlie Baker and Lt. Gov. Karyn Polito announced in December that they won’t seek reelection, so voters will be tasked with choosing their replacements.

Lieutenant Governor

Attorney General

Secretary of State

U.S. House District 4

U.S. House District 9

Bristol County Sheriff