Do I need a mask? Proof of vaccination? Here’s what you need to know for RI, MA, CT

Coronavirus

PROVIDENCE, R.I. (WPRI) — Rhode Island, Massachusetts and Connecticut are doing well in terms of getting people vaccinated against COVID-19, but the pandemic is far from over, with the delta variant causing cases and hospitalizations to spike locally and around the country.

While most restrictions were lifted as we headed into summer, there are still some guidelines in place to help prevent the spread of the virus.

Here’s what you need to know for all three states:

Skip ahead to Massachusetts »
Skip ahead to Connecticut »

Rhode Island

Do I need to wear a mask?

Rhode Island lifted its mask mandate in May for people who are fully vaccinated, but even those people should keep face coverings handy since they’re still required in certain settings like medical facilities and public transportation.

Additionally, all K-12 students, teachers and staff are required to wear masks in schools for the time being.

The CDC recommends that all people wear masks indoors in areas of high transmission, which includes Rhode Island, so some businesses and services may also ask patrons to wear them.

Are stores and restaurants restricted?

The state removed restrictions for most businesses and services in May, including the capacity limits and social distancing requirement. However, Gov. Dan McKee said businesses can transition back to normal at their own pace and asked patrons to respect that.

Do I need to show proof of vaccination?

Unlike some other states, Rhode Island does not require so-called “vaccine passports.” However, some businesses like performance venues and nightclubs may require patrons to show proof.

Do I need to get tested?

Anyone traveling to Rhode Island from another state or US territory is not required to quarantine or get tested, regardless of vaccination status.

The R.I. Department of Health does, however, recommend those who are not fully vaccinated to get tested before and after travel or quarantine for 10 days after travel.

The state offers free testing and vaccinations for visitors.

International travelers are required by the CDC to provide a negative COVID-19 test result upon arrival in the US.

Travelers must wear a mask in transportation hubs like airports and stations, as well as on planes, buses, trains and boats.

Do I need a reservation for restaurants and bars?

The most recent guidance says reservations are encouraged, but not required. It’s best to call ahead to find out how a specific restaurant or bar is handling its seating.


Massachusetts

Do I need to wear a mask?

People who are fully vaccinated are not required to wear a mask or practice social distancing, except when required like on public transportation and inside health care facilities.

Those who are not vaccinated are advised to continue wearing masks indoors.

Are stores and restaurants restricted?

No. All industries can operate at 100% capacity and the social gathering limit is no longer in effect.

Do I need to show proof of vaccination?

Like Rhode Island, Massachusetts will not require “vaccine passports.”

Travelers who are fully vaccinated and not displaying any COVID-19 symptoms do not need to quarantine upon entering the state.

Do I need to get tested?

All visitors and returning residents who are not vaccinated are advised to quarantine for 10 days upon arrival in Massachusetts, unless proof of a negative test is provided.

Anyone entering the state for less than 24 hours is also exempt from the travel advisory.

Do I need a reservation for restaurants and bars?

Under the current protocols, reservations and call-ahead seating is encouraged, but not required. Restaurants and bars are also asked to take down the contact information of someone in the party in case contact-tracing is necessary.


Connecticut

Do I need to wear a mask?

People who are fully vaccinated do not have to wear a mask unless they’re in a place that requires them, such as schools, hospitals and nursing homes. People who are not vaccinated must wear a mask indoors, but they’re not required outdoors.

Are stores and restaurants still restricted?

All businesses and services are fully open at this time.

Do I need to show proof of vaccination?

Like Rhode Island and Massachusetts, Connecticut is not requiring so-called “vaccine passports.”

Do I need to get tested?

People who are fully vaccinated, meaning they’re two weeks removed from their final dose, do not have to get tested before or after travel, unless they’re doing so internationally.

Below is the travel guidance for people who are not vaccinated:

Before Travel

  • Plan ahead and check if your airline or destination requires testing, health information, or other documentation.
  • Some destinations require a viral test 1-3 days prior to travel. Visit the Connecticut Testing Locator or call 211 to locate a testing site.
  • Keep a copy of your test results with you during travel in case you are asked for them.
  • Anyone who develops signs/symptoms of COVID-19 prior to travel should stay home and get tested.

After Travel

  • Review CDC guidance for post-travel quarantine and testing
  • Get tested 3-5 days after travel AND self-quarantine at home for a full 7 days after travel.
    • Continue to stay home and self-quarantine for a full 7 days after travel, even if your test is negative.
    • If your test is positive, isolate yourself to protect others from getting infected.
  • If you do not get tested, stay home and self-quarantine for a full 10 days after travel.
  • Remember to self-monitor for signs and symptoms of COVID-19 while in quarantine. If at any time during your quarantine you develop signs and symptoms of COVID-19, self-isolate (including away from other members of your travel party), contact a healthcare provider, and seek testing.

Do I need a reservation for restaurants and bars?

No, but some establishments may still require patrons to call ahead or reserve a table online.

While there’s no longer a capacity limit for restaurants, parties can have no more than eight people per table and dining rooms must close by midnight.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Providence

PINPOINT WEATHER // Quick Links:

Dan Yorke State of Mind

DYSOM 9/17/2021: RI DLT Director Matt Weldon

More Dan Yorke State of Mind

Don't Miss

LIVE CAMS on WPRI.com

More Live Cams
Viewer Pa on WPRI.com

Community Events & Happenings

More Community