ATTLEBORO, Mass. (WPRI) - Massachusetts drivers who text behind the wheel are facing possible penalties, after a new state law went into effect Thursday morning.
The law also prohibits drivers from surfing the internet on a phone or other mobile device.
"I think it's a good thing," said driver David Paradis. "I personally text all the time. I know it's pretty unsafe. But, I do have voice recognition on my phone and I'll be using it from now on."
Lloyd Albert from AAA of Southern New England said the law makes sense.
"[Texting] takes your eyes off of the road, your hands off the wheel, and most importantly, your mind off the task at hand - which is driving safely," Albert said.
In addition to the texting ban, drivers under the age of 18 are banned from using cell phones altogether while behind the wheel.
"Kids these days are inexperienced as it is for driving. And to add in texting and talking on the phone, just adds to the inexperience," said driver Katherine Blessinger.
Violators face fines of $100 for the first offense, and up to $500 for multiple offenses.
Massachusetts and Rhode Island are among 30 states to introduce a texting ban.
Before heading to the airport, make sure your flight is running on time. MORE >>
We're not expecting to see an abundance of snow, but the timing of the storm will make things tricky for area motorists.
With snow and freezing rain in the forecast, New Englanders should expect a messy morning commute.
Detailed breakdown of the winter storm expected to impact Monday morning's commute and how it could affect you. MORE>>
Massachusetts State Police are investigating after a fiery late-night car crash in Fall River.